Comedy and Chameleons: Playlist for February 2012

It’s been a long time since I posted one of these – probably about two years. Let’s blame the Koreans and their Spotify thwarting ways. Or alternatively, me for being too lazy to find any other way of posting it. Barriers overcome, I’m going to make one of these monthly. The playlist is a mix of old and new songs that have been tickling my lugs through February and the amount of new tracks on there is indicative of what, I think, has already been a great year for new releases.

The Kathleen Edwards record, Voyageur, in particular has taken me in. Justin Vernon’s midas touch hasn’t deserted him and you can really feel his presence at the production desk. She always had fantastic songs, but I think these are her strongest set to date. I’ve reviewed a few of the albums and spoken to a couple of the artists on here, so if you like what you hear, have a wee read.

Some of the older songs contain great memories. Nowhere Again by the Secret Machines reminds me of sitting on a torn seat, with yellow fluff coming out of it, on a bus from Belfast to my university campus. We had to pass a dog food factory en route, but luckily I’m not synesthetic enough to smell the molten “meat” when I play their album. I only realised last week that Benjamin Curtis from the band is one of the main guys in School of Seven Bells, a group I’ve heard great things about, but am yet to investigate.

And then there’s Shack. Ah, Shack. A blast from my Select reading days in the late 90s. I think I heard the track Comedy on a free cd with the magazine and after that got into Waterpistol and HMS Fable. Everything I read about them at the time had some sort of tragedy connected to it. A band member died. A studio burnt down, with their masters in it. Noel Gallagher said they were his favourite band. Tragic stuff. The Head brothers have a nous for brilliantly simple songs. Comedy is beautiful.

Enjoy the playlist and if you like any of the songs, buy them. You won’t regret it.

Listen here (Spotify link)

Comedy and Chameleons

1. Last Days – Thoughts of Alice

2. The Dead Texan – The Struggle

3. Delay Trees – Uni15

4. Clem Snide – The Dairy Queen

5. I Build Collapsible Mountains – Where We Go Tomorrow

6. Perfume Genius – No Tear

7. Tindersticks – Show Me Everything

8. Active Child – High Priestess

9. Damien Jurado – Everyone a Star

10. Shack – Comedy

11. Kathleen Edwards – Chameleon/Comedian

12. Ane Brun – Do You Remember?

13. Shearwater – You as You Were

14. Errors – Magna Encarta

15. We Are Augustines – Augustine

16. Secret Machines – Nowhere Again

Leave a Reply

